Stephen is an award-winning playwright, director, and the co-Artistic Director of the Fountain Theatre in Los Angeles, which he co-founded with Deborah Lawlor in 1990. He is the author of eleven produced plays, including HEART SONG (Fountain Theatre and Florida Rep), CYRANO (LA Drama Critics Circle Award, Best New Play) and BAKERSFIELD MIST (2012 Elliot Norton Award, Best New Play), MISS JULIE: FREEDOM SUMMER (Fountain Theatre, Vancouver Playhouse), GILGAMESH (Theatre at Boston Court), OPEN WINDOW (Pasadena Playhouse, Media Access Award), CENTRAL AVENUE (PEN USA Literary Award Finalist), SWEET NOTHING IN MY EAR (PEN USA Literary Award Finalist, Media Access Award), MOTHER’S DAY, THE GOLDEN GATE (Best Play Award, Dramalogue), and THE BARON IN THE TREES. He wrote the teleplay for SWEET NOTHING IN MY EAR for the Hallmark Hall of Fame, which aired on CBS starring Marlee Matlin and Jeff Daniels. Directing credits include the Los Angeles premiere of MY NAME IS ASHER LEV, the US premieres of Athol Fugard’s THE BLUE IRIS, THE TRAIN DRIVER, VICTORY (NAACP Award for Best Director), the world premiere of Fugard’s EXITS AND ENTRANCES (Ovation Award and LA Drama Critics Circle Award, Best Director), the West Coast premiere of Fugard’s COMING HOME (Best Director, LA Weekly Award), and the Los Angeles premiere of Fugard’s THE ROAD TO MECCA; Itamar Moses’ COMPLETENESS, Warren Leight’s SIDE MAN starring Christine Lahti and Frank Wood, a 3-city China tour of TOP SECRET(LA Theatre Works), Conor McPherson’s SHINING CITY (LA Premiere), the world premiere of MISS JULIE: FREEDOM SUMMER at the Fountain, the Canadian Stage Company in Toronto, and the Vancouver Playhouse; Arthur Miller’s AFTER THE FALL (Ovation Award, Best Director), BAKERSFIELD MIST, and SWEET NOTHING IN MY EAR (Fountain Theatre, Victory Gardens Theatre in Chicago, Mixed Blood Theatre in Minneapolis); the inaugural production of HIPPOLYTOS at the Outdoor Classical Theater at the Getty Villa in Malibu, and many others. Sachs has twice been nominated for the SDC Zelda Fichandler Award, which recognizes outstanding directors who make unique and exceptional contributions to theatre in their region.