17 nominations

It’s been a big week at TimeLine!  A Walk in the Woods is underway at Theater Wit, The Pitmen Painters starts in just a few days, and on Wednesday the Joseph Jefferson Committee announced that TimeLine has matched the Goodman Theatre’s total of most nominations overall, and for the third year in a row has led all other Midsize theaters, with 17 Equity Jeff Award nominations.

We are honored by this recognition from the Jeff Committee, which celebrates excellence in Chicago’s Equity theater community, and so excited that the talent, hard work and dedication of the amazing artists who worked with us during the 2010-11 season has been acknowledged so generously!

The first play commissioned by TimeLine to appear on our stage, To Master the Art by William Brown and Doug Frew, received a nomination for New Work – Play. And the hardworking 18-member Ensemble of The Front Page was also recognized. Here’s the complete list of TimeLine nominations:


  • Production – Play, Midsize
  • Director, Play – Louis Contey
  • Actor in a Principal Role, Play – Terry Hamilton (as Richard Nixon)
  • Lighting Design – Keith Parham
  • Projections/Video Design – Mike Tutaj


  • Production – Play, Midsize
  • New Work, Play – William Brown and Doug Frew
  • Actress in a Principal Role, Play – Karen Janes Woditsch (as Julia Child)
  • Original Incidental Music – Andrew Hansen
  • Sound Design, Midsize – Andrew Hansen


  • Original Incidental Music – Andrew Hansen
  • Lighting Design – Nic Jones and Jesse Klug
  • Sound Design, Midsize – Andrew Hansen
  • Projections/Video Design – Mike Tutaj


  • Ensemble
  • Scenic Design, Midsize – Collette Pollard
  • Costume Design, Midsize – Lindsey Pate

We also want to offer a shout out to TimeLine-associated artists for their nominations at other theaters:

  • TimeLine Associate Artist Brian Sidney Bembridge, for Lighting Design – Midsize for American Theater Company’s The Big Meal
  • TimeLine Associate Artist Andrew Hansen (who received the most nominations of any artist this year with six) for Sound Design – Large for Writers’ Theatre’s Heartbreak House and Northlight Theatre’s The Outgoing Tide
  • TimeLine Associate Artist Mike Tutaj, for Video/Projections Design for Writers’ Theatre’s The Detective’s Wife
  • The Pitmen Painters director BJ Jones, for Director – Play for Northlight Theatre’s The Outgoing Tide
  • Enron director Rachel Rockwell, for Director – Musical for Marriott Theatre’s 42nd Street and Choreography for Marriott’s A Chorus Line
  • A Walk in the Woods and The Pitmen Painters costume designer Jacqueline Firkins for Costume Design – Large for Court Theatre’s A Comedy of Errors
  • And actor Francis Guinan, soon to appear in TimeLine’s two-night-only readings of The Guys, for Actor in a Supporting Role – Play for American Blues Theater’s Rantoul and Die

Read news coverage and the full list of nominations online via the Chicago Tribune and Chicago Sun-Times. Congratulations to all of the nominees!

Previous to today’s announcement, TimeLine had received 91 Jeff Award nominations and 43 awards, including an award for Outstanding Production eight times: The Farnsworth Invention (2010), The History Boys (2009), Fiorello! (2007), This Happy Breed (2005), Hannah and Martin (2004), Awake and Sing! (2003), The Crucible (2002) and Not About Nightingales (2001).

This year’s Equity Jeff Awards presentation ceremony will take place on Monday, November 7, at Drury Lane Oakbrook in Oakbrook Terrace. For more information and to obtain tickets to the event, visit jeffawards.org.

Leave a Reply